SUBSCRIPTION DATABSES aka "STUFF MHS PAYS FOR"

New! Gale eBooks 

Research a wide variety of topics with our new electronic reference books (above) or any of our databases (below). 
All entries include MLA source citations.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

9,100 pro & con viewpoint articles, 5000 topic overviews, 300+primary source documents, 300+ biographies of  social activists & reformers, 775+ court case overviews, 334 profiles of federal agencies & special interest groups, 140 full-text magazines, academic journals & newpapers, 1,800 images, links to 2,300 reviewed and subject-indexed websites & thousands of podcasts.

Student Resource Center Gold

Includes 8 million full-text articles from 1,000 periodicals and newspapers, over 4,000 primary source documents, hundreds of plays and poems, multimedia content (podcasts, video and audio clips), thousands of flags, maps, seals and photos. 63,000 topic overviews, biographies and pieces of literary criticism.

Grolier Online Encyclopedia

A collection of seven complete 2009 encyclopedias, pre-selected websites, magazine articles and other media.           

Facts on File: U.S. History

Issues & Controversies includes reference, primary source documents, pro/con info on a variety of issues.

Discovery Streaming

Discovery Streaming video collection offers streaming and downloading of full videos, video clips, audio, images and more.

Career Cruising

Find careers that suit your interests and skills with the Matchmaker Quiz, search for careers, find out what they are really like, and find out where to get the information you need to start your career. Check out photos and interviews with professionals.

FREE DATABASES

EBSCO GreenFILE Database

GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, it offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.

Educator Reference Center

Teachers, access news artcles, current lesson plans and activities, news and information posted by StudentPaths. Encourage your students to register and they can complete lessons online. Schools who have at least 20 active students registered qualify to win $200 each month.

EBSCO Teacher Reference Center

 This index offers over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians

Pathsport by Student Paths

Students, register for free to  access this personal development tool for your postsecondary future. Build your resume, set goals, access articles and record answers to the StudentPath lessons.  Each month one student will win $1000 ! 

PUBLIC LIBRARY DATABASES - FREE WITH LIBRARY CARD #

Montclair Branch County Library

Search library catalog, click "Electronic Resources" for access to 29 online databases.

City of Ontario Public Library

Search the library catalog, click "Online Resources" for access to 11 databases.